List of countries that have legalized same-sex marriage


Here is a list of countries that have legalized same-sex marriage and/or have other protections for the rights of LGBTQ+ individuals:

  1. Argentina
  2. Belgium
  3. Brazil
  4. Canada
  5. Colombia
  6. Denmark
  7. Finland
  8. France
  9. Germany
  10. Iceland
  11. Ireland
  12. Luxembourg
  13. Malta
  14. Mexico (in some jurisdictions)
  15. The Netherlands
  16. New Zealand
  17. Norway
  18. Portugal
  19. South Africa
  20. Spain
  21. Sweden
  22. Taiwan
  23. The United Kingdom
  24. The United States

This list is not exhaustive, and it is important to note that the extent of legal protections and rights for LGBTQ+ individuals varies by country. It is also worth noting that while progress has been made in many countries, there is still much work to be done to ensure full equality and protection for LGBTQ+ individuals around the world.

Previous Story

World-renowned restaurant Noma to close, citing ‘unsustainable’ model

Next Story

Carolyn Hax: Partner’s heavy drinking has become impossible to ignore